

## Mayrhofen Market Town History & Origins

It is believed that the first settlers migrated from the south, traversing the peaks before settling in the Mayrhofen area. The pre-Germanic names of Ziller, Tux, Zemm, Floite and Stillup also stem from this period.

An episcopal "Meierhof" (maiores villae) gave Mayrhofen its name. Mayrhofen was mentioned for the first time around 1200 in a land registry document belonging to the Salzburg archbishopric. Mayrhofen belonged to the main shire of "Pramberg" (today's Brandberg) until 1801.

It was only afterwards that it became an independent main shire, from which the municipality of Mayrhofen finally emerged. In 1816, the part of Zillertal that still belonged to Salzburg became part of Tyrol and Mayrhofen with it.

The "Berlin Hut", built by the "German and Austrian Alpine Associaitons", Berlin Section, was opened in 1879. The opening of this Alpine Club hut heralded the onset of tourism, followed by further refuge huts in the Zillertal Alps.

The Zillertal Railway, which went into operation in 1902, boosted tourism even more. The "Thousand Mark Ban", however, then led to a significant decline in developments. Erich Kästner spent three months in Mayrhofen in 1945. The author described how he experienced the end of the war there in his book "Notabene 45".

After the war, tourism was boosted again by the Mayrhofner Bergbahnen with construction of the Penkenbahn Cable Car (1954) and Ahornbahn Gondola (1969). Today, Mayrhofen is one of the most important tourist resorts in Austria and enjoys international repute.

## **Additional facts**

• 1947 - "Mayrhofner Community Coat of Arms" awarded by the Tyrolean provincial government

The coat of arms shows a split white-red shield and a black ibex with golden horns turned to the right. This coat of arms is based on the fact that the ibex roamed the Floite and Gunggel valleys until the 18th century.

- 1969 Elevated to the status of Market Town.
- 1973 Awarded the "Honorary Flag of the Council of Europe" in Strasbourg.
- 1980 Award for exemplary environmental and townscape conservation by the Austrian Association of Municipalities.
- 1989 Awarded the "Plaque of Honour" by the Council of Europe.
- As a founding member of the 1st European Partnership Ring, Mayrhofen is twinned with the towns of Cabourg (France), Bad Mondorf (Luxembourg), Chur (Switzerland), Terracina (Italy) and Bad Homburg vdH (Germany), and has hosted international university language courses in cooperation with the University of Innsbruck since 1947.



Tourismusverband Mayrhofen-Hippach • Dursterstraße 225 • 6290 Mayrhofen – Zillertal – Tirol T: +43 5285 6760 • F: +43 5285 6760-33 • info@mayrhofen.at • www.mayrhofen.at UID: ATU 37046807 • Raiffeisenbank Mayrhofen • IBAN: AT17362740000020990 • BIC: RZTIAT 22274

